No Turkey Day

 Tomorrow is Thanksgiving and while I know some of you are anticipating chowing on some succulent breast meat, I look forward to fulfilling 2 of my own annual traditions: 1) Making a Thanksgiving-themed mix for traveling 2) Donating to Farm Sanctuary to save the life of a turkey that would have otherwise been killed (not always humanely) and eaten.  Last year we welcomed Mello, a laid-back male that enjoys yams and squash, into our family.  This year, my girlfriend and I have adopted Kima.  She will enjoy life in upstate New York with the other turkeys that I’m sure will be giving their fair share of thanks this holiday.  Even if you don’t feel compelled to give up meat or to adopt a turkey, I hope that you all remember to count your blessings and give thanks for all that we take for granted in life. 

For those traveling or cooking, here are a few songs to throw on to your own mix. 

If you’re interested in adopting a turkey of your own, click the badge below and add some fowl to your family.

Vince Guaraldi Trio – Thanksgiving Theme
River City Extension – Friends and Family
 Feist – It’s Cool to Love Your Family
The Jim Yoshii Pile-Up – Thanksgiving Grey
Denison Witmer – Chesapeake Watershed
Wood Goold – An Old Land
John Bradley – Give Me Nothing
Antony and the Johnsons – Thank You for Your Love
Patrick Watson – Giver (Live)
Up Up Down Down Left Right Left Right B A Start – I’ll Thank You Later
Shannon Wright – Asleep (Smiths Cover)

One response

  1. me

    makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages

    December 1, 2010 at 8:11 pm

Leave a comment